the video aftermath

In the wake of the little-video-that-could, cmyfood is doing well! No serious backlash.. so I think it’s official. More videos to come! I figured out how to shoot it, upload it and finally embed it into the blog posts so, home free! But the videos have to be super short. It literally took me 2 hours to get that p-o-s uploaded. 😦 Anyone offer suggestions with that? (Website….. or… something?)

We survived another night of spin class. My butt is hurting from the inside out (muscles that is…..) but we can actually finish a whole one hour class without stopping! Our first night we both stopped a couple times and almost fell off the bike. Only thing is… spin is during dinner time. 😦 We’ve opted to eat before but that makes me crampy and sick as I’m cycling. So now we eat after. Which is probably for the best… You’re not supposed to eat before you workout, right?

I went to Bedner’s Farm Fresh Market again yesterday on my way home from the meat market where we go to get our dog’s food and bought more great yellowish tomatoes, couple of red ones, a jalapeno and some other yummy produce.

As I was perusing the aisles… I was dreaming of a juicy stuffed tomato… kinda salty, kinda sweet, kinda spicy…..

And made these! Served with a skinny slab of veal and rice pilaf with pecans. But, I ended up pushing the veal to the side.

Fresher than a Farmer’s Market Stuffed Tomatoes
(give everything a small dice)
2 yellow tomatoes (or get a really ugly heirloom), tops cut off and insides removed and diced
1 red tomato
1 jalapeno (use 1/2 if you must)
1/4 sweet onion
1 (small) cucumber
1 avocado
juice of 1/2 a navel orange
juice of 1/2 a lime
generous drizzle of honey (I don’t know? 2 tablespoons?)
2 tablespoons olive oil
s+p to taste

In a mixing bowl, combine the red tomato, onion, jalapeno and cucumber with citrus juices, olive oil and salt and pepper, let marinade in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes. Go to spin class and upon return, dice the avocado and toss with honey. Shove a heaping mound of the produce medley in the hollowed yellow tomatoes and marvel at how gorgeous they are. Then enjoy. πŸ™‚

As I was inhaling this, I was telling Shayne mid-bite how many different ways we could serve this in the future. “Veggie tacos!” “On top of fish!” Β Which in hindsight, I would’ve rather served with fish but… whatevs. We’ll get ’em next time.

Like my *new* rectangular plate? πŸ™‚ TJMAXX – $3.00!

Today I start a baking marathon. For the next 3 hours I will be whipping up 2 dozen chocolate chip and pecan cookies and a red velvet cake for a crawfish boil this weekend (SO EXCITED!). Its a good day to have a KitchenAid Mixer. πŸ˜‰

enjoy your meals…

C

One thought on “the video aftermath

  1. 😦 wish you would have started this Marathon while we were down visiting last week…. sweet tooth is becoming quite annoying..LOL

Leave a Reply

