’tis the season

Farmer’s Market season! Shayne and I went to Bedner’s Farmer’s Market over the weekend and rounded up some tip-top produce for our post-workout meals. And besides going to Whole Foods (aka Whole Paycheck) Market like every other day and getting salad bar yummy’s… our at-home meals are light and healthy. (But I miss butter…and carbs….and chocolate………) And I will be back on the wagon soon… just not all at once. 🙂

This Farmer’s Market/STORE is filled with prime vegetables and fruits of the season. It’s incredible! They just opened the doors on this little barn not too long ago and seriously, the place was packed this past weekend! It was crazy.

FRESH, FRESH, FRESH! And the prices beat any grocer.

We would’ve loaded up on more but seriously I was walking around like my head was cut off. I couldn’t even fathom my next purchase. I didn’t know whether I wanted to make a salad with blood oranges or stuff poblano peppers. Our picks:


Sourdough bread, Roma tomatoes, a couple of Granny’s, sweet onion, blood orange, celery, fresh Romaine and a baby watermelon.

This seedless, baby melon made my eyes water it was so juicy! What a beauty!


What we made with our yummy’s from the Whole Paycheck salad bar and our fresh Romaine. A spinach hummus, couscous and chickpeas & Mississippi caviar lettuce wrap. So delicious and the perfect snack!!
(Mississippi caviar = black eyed peas, tomato, red onion, garlic, jalapeno, oil and vinegar. In some cases other ingredients like corn…)

I didn’t indulge because my lactose warning siren was wailing but right when you walk out the door at the Farmer’s Market, you’re met with freshly churned ice cream!

Get out there and enjoy your Farmer’s Markets!
C

Leave a Reply

