sweet home chicago

One more thing about Chicago…

Sometimes I find myself longing for Chi-town. Mostly just the food, hustle and bustle and… the food. Chicago is a treasure chest of good eats and acclaimed culinary talents. I feel so lucky to have studied the food arts there but lets face facts – winters up there can kiss my as$! Seriously! Are you people INSANE?! Clearly. I mean, waking up at 4:30 a.m. to catch a train was insane in itself but doing this when it was 12 degrees while 40 mph winds swirl sheets of snow in my face….!!? So thank you Chicago, for the lovely weather, reality check and more importantly THIS:

Oh, Chicago-style hot dog. No one in South Florida truly knows how to emulate you. Although I desperately try, not even I. It’s one of those true gems of the Windy City. And in an almost heated debate earlier with my coworker (who is a native Chicagoan), I was trying to persuade him that yes, we have had a Chicago-style (in Chicago!) with sliced cucumber. I had to Google the ingredients to win the battle – Wikipedia states: A Chicago-style hot dog is a steamed, boiled or grilled all-beef hot dog on a poppy seed bun, originating from the city of Chicago, Illinois. The hot dog is topped with mustard, onion, sweet pickle relish (often a dyed neon green variety called “Nuclear Relish”), a dill pickle spear, tomato slices or wedges, pickled sport peppers, and celery salt. Some variants exist, adding things such as cucumber slices, although ketchup is never included. (and forget the “sliced tomato” business, we dice in our kitchen.)

Ah-ha! I don’t lie. Especially about food.

enjoy your hot dogs… only if they’re Chicago-style.

C

One thought on “sweet home chicago

Leave a Reply

