hodge podge

I don’t know why but I love that little phrase. 🙂
I can only find time to blog at work. I attempted to blog at Brandy’s house over the weekend but I got distracted, even after she was showing me some fancy tricks on Photoshop. Which I still remember and tried to mimic today on these here photos: (I need those actions, though, sis) 🙂

Nothing in this world is better than a hot bowl of chili. Especially when its Veggie Chili.. a hearty hodge podge of bright vegetables with a dash of cayenne… ugh.. yum! And you can’t forget the crumbles of sweet cornbread.
I’ve been playing with the settings on my new camera. Can ya tell? 😉


Easy Veggie Chili
1 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes
1 12 oz. can diced tomatoes
1 6 oz. can corn
1 15 oz. can black beans
1 15 oz. can pinto beans
1 16 oz. can kidney beans
1 green pepper, medium diced
1 small onion, medium dice
1 zucchini squash, sliced
1 yellow squash, sliced
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon cumin
1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon chili powder (I had Mexican on hand)
s+p to taste

Combine all ingredients, except both squash, in a crock pot and set on low for at least 24 hours. Before serving, add zucchini and yellow squash and simmer for 10 minutes. Serve hot with a slice of cornbread.


I made some rustic French toast from leftover French bread. I LOVE French toast – when its crunchy. Soggy bread? No thanks.


We may seem like some real cornbread freaks. It might’ve been true. Shayne asked for it twice – with chili and grilled chicken. Geez louise. He loves this concoction shown above. You may remember my reference to this in an earlier entry. It’s this wonderful, totally indigenous to the Stephenson clan, authentic side dish I have come to love. I can’t sit there and eat a whole bowl or anything but it just tastes… homey? I don’t really know the word… country? I’m at a loss but if you’ve ever had supper with my in-laws out in the backyard – you’d know the word for it. 🙂

Drove up the Turnpike this weekend to go to Orlando and visit the Burridges. Saturday they took us to Disney World to the Wilderness Lodge to go to the Campfire/Movie night shindig. SO COOL. Ugh, have I ever mentioned how much I love Disney World! So, we watched Monsters, Inc. on a very big screen while roasting marshmallows over a fire pit. (Don’t spend too much time looking at my splotchy hands – for some reason they look like this in this photo but not in real life).

Can I be completely honest here, though and admit that marshmallows are another thing I really don’t like. But I like s’mores. Kind of. I don’t like graham crackers either. By themselves. I know.. I can’t believe I even exists sometimes. On that note..

enjoy your meals!

C

One thought on “hodge podge

Leave a Reply

