i hate spaghetti

I feel like I’m losing it. The imagination and desire I possessed as a culinary student to produce exciting meals. Do not get me wrong! I still love making things and following recipes and improvising and eating great food but I feel like as worker bee, now, my main objective when making dinner is to just get something yummy on the table in a somewhat quick fashion. Not microwave quick, but as showcased in a way earlier post – making beef burgundy-esque dishes every other night doesn’t really cut it. So I started poking my nose through lots of sharp-imaged, pretty foodie blogs and sites with their simple, modern, clean templates…. It’s so interesting to read about what other people are cooking and with such sophistication! I feel like a numb-nuts. Especially since I am somewhat formally trained. But the point is I don’t feel like I am reaching beyond my potential and honing my skills. First order of business: I need a knife sharpener. I have been dropping BOMBS as far as hints and even put it on our wedding registry last year but I guess people just figured I needed something like a salad bowl instead of a knife sharpener so I can sharpen the $900 knife kit from $40,000/year culinary school I went to. Just sayin’.
Second order of business: Get a new job, one in a kitchen. Pay will likely decrease and sucky hours will increase… but I feel its imperative to my future as a food writer and professional in the culinary arena to make this happen. I have no clue when it will or if anything will happen soon, I just feel like its got to. Somehow. I applied for a job at a country club but that never sprouted anything. It’s hard enough just to find any job, much less the one you really want these days. No excuses – upwards and onwards!
I also have this conscious urge to work in a bakery again! I don’t know what it is, I am in love with pretty pastries.

Dinners haven’t been too grand and lunch has been either 1/2 sandwich or Special K. I am really trying to keep my intestines happy and going light on the bad stuff. And you would not believe this but its true – I haven’t had ANY candy since Ash Wednesday (except, OK, last night I had one Ghiradelli chocolate square – but c’mon… women need their chocolate every so many weeks).

But here is the real monumental thing happening in my food life. I am starting to get Italian food cravings. A little background about yours truly: it’s my least favorite “ethnic” food group. Ever. All that chunky red sauce (heartburn), noodles (bloated), and cheese (lactose intolerant)… ugh.. and I love you mom, but I always hated the spaghetti. Every time. However, I’ve always really enjoyed basil-olive oil combos with fresh tomato. That was the extent of it. So the other day my coworker was chomping on chicken parmesan and it looked so appetizing – I was eating a half of a turkey sandwich on sourdough and a 1/2 cup of mushroom bisque. That night I told Shayne I reeeeally wanted chicken parm. We went to an “italian” restaurant and had some, it was gross. So I’m back at square one with “italian” food. Still hating it.

enjoy your meals…

C

Leave a Reply

