valentines & mardi gras!

I am super duper excited to reveal pictures. Real ones. From a digital camera. THAT’S MINE!!!! 🙂
I am so a Libra. We went to Best Buy to purchase another wireless USB thingy. Well, the Geek Squad Nerd told us we needed to get the $85.00 one and I wasn’t pumped about getting an $85.00 USB plug thingy. So I started poking around the cameras – bad idea. I picked one out that was on sale and held it for oh, about 25 minutes…at least. I kept looking at it… looking at Shayne… looking at the sales lady…looking at the price… looking at the USB thingy… I asked Shayne about 10 times, “What do you think?” -and- “Do you think its a good idea?” It’s a good thing my husband is pretty cut and dry. “Just get the camera, you need it for your blog.” 🙂 🙂 🙂 Exactly!

Two years ago Valentine’s Day he proposed. It’s been crazy to see our life from then and now.

I actually told my coworker last Friday I wasn’t sure if Shayne had anything planned because I hadn’t sniffed anything out. No receipts lying around, no sneakiness. I was getting bummed. It always happens that whenever I am feeling like nothing is happening, something always happens. Its not that I don’t like surprises, I just don’t like being surprised. I like to know everything- all the time. Especially if people are trying to be sneaky and secretive. Saturday he surprised me with a 30 minute massage (never had one! it was amazing!) and dinner in West Palm Beach Sunday evening at Kona Grill… as Uncle Jesse would say, “have mercy.”

We had Sweet & Spicy Shrimp for appetizer.

Our entrees were food for kings! The portions alone were enormous but, being the bad asses we are, we almost finished each one. I had one of the restaurant’s self-proclaimed specials: Macadamia Nut Chicken with garlic mashed potatoes and sauteed vegetables. Shayne had the Kona Strip, medium-well with mushrooms, asparagus and mashed potatoes. De-lish!

After going through the delectable dessert selections, I suggested we get the passion fruit creme brulee. My husband is some kind of romantic and insisted we order red velvet cake because “it was our wedding cake” 🙂 And… don’t tell our bakery but this rivals our wedding cake – the butter cream tasted JUST like it! Amazing!

It’s Mardi Gras time! I got this cookbook from my awesomely amazing, wonderful Louisiana-native friend, Alex aka Cuz. She’s my soul mate from another time! She got me this as a going away gift when I moved to Chicago to go to school. I’ve made some excellent stuff from this book and cant wait to try the Crawfish Beignets. I’ve made the Shrimp Creole from this book before and it never lets me down! I always make it spicier and spicier each time, though. Keep Shayne on his toes….

I had to make a lil somethin-somethin for the festivities going down in other awesome parts of the country. And I couldn’t bear to serve with humdrum white rice. I made cheese grits!

enjoy your Mardi Gras!

Leave a Reply

