meals

I got so pumped up about the L.A. thing I neglected to post our weekly menu.

As I sit here nibbling on my appetizer of snack-sized carrots and ranch – staring out at a gloomy, rainy SoFlo day… ugh… I’ll do my best to be enthusiastic:

Last week we got home and we’re so over eating out. I mean, okay, let’s face the fact and last blog entry: the food was phenom and we had fun eating it but after like 5 days eating on the go, you feel like sh*t and 100 pounds heavier …and sleepier.
Not that we ate well, per say, this weekend but I cooked 🙂 So last Friday I made a homemade pizza ‘cuz Friday is “pizza night” (well, it used to be…). Saturday I made fried chicken (and he wanted waffles but we had no bisquick). And side note: We totally went to Roscoe’s Chicken & Waffles the last night in L.A. but the pictures are on another camera currently being held in possession by Brandy Burridge so those were not included on the previous entry. Chicken + waffles = ridiculous, awesomeness. Anyway, no waffles. We had corn instead. There’s a real trick to making great fried chicken, I think. Especially if you get those real gerthy pieces that seem to just stay raw no matter how long you cook them. My method? Frying till deep golden brown on medium heat and then baking in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes. I also marinated the breasts in buttermilk. Which is fast becoming my ultimate favorite ingredient of all time. I love sour and tangy flavors and buttermilk gives most things (to me, anyway) the most unique flavor. That night, we put it in everything, the corn, potatoes and of course, chicken. Some people don’t prefer and would probably scowl if I served them some of my sour mashed potatoes but… I say YES!

Last night I made shepherds pie – one of my favorites. Comfort food at its *almost* best. Hodgepodge of leftovers nestled under luscious, fluffy mashed potatoes. This time, instead of having our biscuits on the side I thought, “Hmm, why not bake them right on top?” Good thing I did. It was AWESOME. And I didn’t add a pinch of salt to this dish! Can you believe THAT!? I just added tons of seasonings.

Biscuits Atop Shepherd’s Pie
1 lb. lean ground beef
1 12 oz. bag frozen vegetables (ours had white and yellow corn, asparagus and baby carrots)
3/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
1 tablespoon paprika
1/2 tablespoon red pepper flakes
1 garlic clove, chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
5 medium potatoes, peeled and diced
3 tablespoons butter
1 egg
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (we had this leftover from our pizza)
1 (16.3-oz.) can refrigerated biscuits
*dash of buttermilk optional*
additional 1 tablespoon of butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Preheat large skillet over medium-high heat. Add olive oil and garlic and let cook until fragrant (be careful not to burn). Add meat, Worcestershire, seasonings; stir. When meat is cooked thoroughly, add frozen vegetables. Stir to combine.

Meanwhile, in a large sauce pan add potatoes and pour water just enough to cover. Boil on high until fork tender. Strain the water and add the butter, egg and mozzarella cheese (buttermilk, too, if desired). Using a hand-mixer, blend on low until fluffy.

In a 9×9 casserole, add meat and vegetables and spoon potatoes on top. Using the palms of your hands, flatten out the biscuits and lay on top. Brush tops with melted butter. Bake in oven for about 20 minutes, or until biscuits are golden.


(look at this pathetic photo…I’m embarrassed)

So after my bag of carrots is no longer yielding any, my leftovers await!

Tonight: Asian pork lettuce wraps.

enjoy your chicken + waffles!

C

One thought on “meals

Leave a Reply

