simply bean burritos

I should just start naming these entries: Last night’s dinner (but thats boring) because I always start off with the same phrase. Whatevs…

So for last night’s dinner I was in the mood for something quick…veggie….easy on the prep… Welllll bean burritos is what I came up with! Ha. Yeah, I went to culinary school and I am still making bean burritos. But what-ever! Let me clarify something before I proceed with further embarrassing entries that include me putting together a simple salad: I am so not one of those and was not one of the competitive, molecular scientist, foie gras-loving culinary students. I like the food I like and it just so happens its not very fancy. So there – bean burritos it is!
I got that Rachael Ray MYOTO recipe book for Christmas and started nosing through it.. looking for inspiration. I found a fab recipe for Turkey & Bean Tomatillo Burritos. I 86-ed the ground turkey and just used pinto and black beans to supplement the protein.
Try this version for a quick & easy, filling,vegetarian twist on RR’s recipe.

Mucho Beans and Green Rice Burritos
2 12-inch flour tortillas
1 15 oz. can pinto beans
1 15 oz. can black beans
1 avocado, diced
1/2 cup tomatillo sauce (use any extra for dipping)
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar
1 bunch of cilantro, rough chopped
1 jalapeño, seeded and diced
1 bunch of scallions, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 lime, for juice
2 tablespoons light sour cream
1 pouch boil-in-bag rice (Publix brand:))

Preheat oven to 275 degrees. Wrap the tortillas in aluminum foil and warm in oven until all ingredients are prepped.

Green Rice
Bring a small saucepan 1/2 full of water to a boil with 1 tablespoon of butter, squeeze of lime juice and salt for the rice. Add the pouch, turn down the heat and let simmer for 10 minutes. Remove the rice from pouch, add back into saucepan over low heat. Add the jalapeno, cilantro, scallions and 1 clove of garlic to rice and combine. Season with salt and pepper. While the rice is cooking, heat both cans of beans in a small saucepan with the other clove of garlic. Season with salt and pepper.

To assemble
Lay one warm tortilla flat and spoon beans, then cheese, rice, tomatillo sauce, sour cream and finally avocado. Fold up any way your little heart desires and enjoy!

The picture may not tell the true yummy tale of this burrito, but it sure was tasty 🙂

enjoy your beans!

Leave a Reply

