the perfect marriage – ham and citrus

Hope everyone had a nice Christmas! I spent the day cooking and lazy-ing around with my husband 🙂 We got each other, what I thought, the same amount of gifts… until he showed me a huge box behind the couch. It was a new keyboard (as in…piano. Yes, I’ve been known to tickle the ivories every now and again. He also got me a Rachael Ray, Make Your Own Take Out recipe card collection. OMG, best gift ever. Future entries with recipes coming soon!

We spent Christmas with our pups, in the kitchen, mostly. After a biscuits and sausage gravy breakfast, we spent the rest of the late morning making a ham, mashed potatoes (a heated debate over smashed or mashed was brewing but I squashed it and compromised – we had his pick- mashed) & green bean casserole.

For some reason whenever I make chicken, cornish hens, turkey or whatever… I have this compulsive disorder to always put citrus on it or in it. I am kind of obsessed with citrus on poultry, for sure. Well, maybe obsessed with adding citrus to pretty much anything, really. But, I thought oh, what the hell… I have some tangerines and oranges… let’s put them on the ham! I melted together butter, honey dijon mustard, orange marmalade, cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, maple syrup and that was our glaze. We bought the ham that came with a glaze in a bag but that suspiciously ended up in the garbage..?.
The sliced orange and tangerines were laid atop the pig and foil was wrapped to keep it moist. SO GOOD. The citrusy-buttery-maple flavors penetrated the meat and it was deliiiiiiish. I wasnt sure how it was going to turn out, with it looking a little ridiculous with sliced oranges and everything on it, too.


The mashed potatoes were crap because I bought the wrong taters and I probably put too much sour cream in them. There is a certain potato for mashed and Yukon Golds just weren’t cutting it for me. I like red and russets. They always seem to yield thicker and creamier mashed taters.
The green bean casserole was another hubs request and we couldnt make it without fresh green beans… it is like 3000 times better than using canned beans. Using canned is now banned.

Last night I made yogurt-marinated lamb gyros on naan. Have I mentioned that I absolutely LOVE naan on my blog, yet? Love.
I like pita bread buuuuut, naan is seriously yummier.

And after that triumph, I whipped up some jumbo orange-cinnamon cupcakes with cool whip. 🙂 With the help of Pillsbury yellow cake mix, I added 1/2 cup creme fraiche, 1 tablespoon orange extract, 1 tablespoon cinnamon and a teaspoon of vanilla extract.
…and I quote my husband from last night, “I love being married,” as I shoved a cupcake in his mouth while he was crouched on the ground, slaving over a put-it-together-yourself-IKEA shelf. 🙂

Wishing the few c-food readers a safe and happy 2010!

…enjoy your New Years!

Leave a Reply

