merry cherry tarts

I can’t possibly describe in typing… or blogging, for that matter… the extreme happiness I feel due to us *finally* having a working stove. Our move has been trying but the most agonizing thing has to be that for almost the past 2 weeks we have been committing crimes. Eating out. Literally.. every… single.. night. EXCEPT the last 2 nights! Yes! Hallelujah!!
We were without proper nutrients for like… 12 days. We had no fridge or stove (OR MICROWAVE) and our tummies were forced into empty calories and frequent bathroom visits. I am still recuperating.

Now all that’s over. Let the cooking & baking commence!

Well, first off Merry freakin’ Christmas!!! Like I said, I love this time of year. Its just…fun. 🙂
I made these little cheesecake tarts for my coworkers. (Who am I kidding..?.. )
My mom has made these before and I am pretty sure they were more like mini cheesecakes and probably better. But a couple days ago I was browsing recipes for cheesecakes and wanted to make tarts that were no-bake. ..since, do I have to even mention?.. the whole no oven debacle. I found a few recipes but they were for no-bake cheesecakes. Whatever. I used one of the recipes, to only throw it out the window and make THESE:

Right!? …aaaand one more, what the hell…


Well… I guess they make BAKED cheesecake tarts for a reason. Because when you slide your spoon into these, what you essentially scoop out is: goopy, droopy cheesecake yummy-ness. Its not a thick & creamy, cheesecake consistency… more like… cheesecake pudding tarts. 🙂 Either way, so delish. Who cares.

Merry Cherry Cheesecake Pudding Tarts
Filling
1 8 oz. package cream cheese
1 14 oz. can sweetened, condensed milk
zest and juice of 1 lemon
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
3 teaspoons cinnamon
1 21 oz. can cherry pie filling

Graham cracker crust
1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs (look in the baking aisle. this was news to me – i had grabbed graham crackers!)
1/3 cup melted butter/margarine
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine crumbs and butter just until combined. Line 10 aluminum cups in a muffin pan. Lightly coat cups with nonstick baking spray. Press graham cracker crust into bottom of cups and bake in oven for 8 minutes. Place in refrigerator just to cool, about 5 minutes. Pour in cheesecake filling just a smidge (cookbook writing in my future? I think so!) over 1/2 way full, make sure you leave room for the cherry filling. Cool in refrigerator for at least 2 hours. I left mine in overnight. Didn’t really make a difference, though.
Spoon cherry pie filling over tarts.. more like.. GLOB cherry pie filling over tarts.

..and, I think she’ll agree, this post could not have come at a better time. Enjoy your birthdays – Happy Birthday Brandy!

Merry Christmas & ENJOY your tarts!

C

One thought on “merry cherry tarts

Leave a Reply

