texas and french braises

Like I promised, our trip to Texas was spent stuffing our faces. Literally. Since it was Thanksgiving and all, that day was definitely a given. The others.. well.. the only thing I can say is, if you’ve been.. you know exactly what I am talking about when I say there is a restaurant every 50 feet.

We dug right in once our plane landed. Straight to my dad’s fiancee’s house to eat her mom’s Duck/Dove Gumbo. (HELLO!!?) I am not the world’s biggest fan of duck… or dove, I guess… We made duck confit at school and I hate it. The fattiest, gamiest (?) piece of food ever. And when they mentioned it was on the menu, I was wishing we had stopped at Whataburger on our way from the airport. I was honest though, and told her it was not my fav. Little did I know it was going to be the most yummy gumbo I have ever had. Minus the tiny bone my dad almost choked on. 😦
Apparently rice goes on top. I opted for the bottom. I failed.

Thanksgiving was great. Big, perfectly golden brown turkey, homemade dressing… I even got up somewhat early to make a pumpkin pie, blueberry pie and homemade cranberry sauce and I had to be in charge of the taters. The night before I somehow got conned into making mini blueberry pies and a cherry pie…. mind you, this was right after we endured the worst 2 hour flight of my life and eaten gumbo. 🙂

Friday I had to get a Shipley’s kolache and a glazed. I always get a sausage & cheese and a jalapeno, sausage & cheese kolache. For the foreigners, a Texas kolache is like a corn dog of sorts… minus the stick and instead of cornmeal, donut dough. So delish. I could eat like… a whole box. 🙂

That evening I had to get my Tex-Mex fix. Now, there’s really only one other restaurant I would’ve liked to have gone.. but didn’t because Lupe Tortilla is just too damn good. Pappasito’s is a favorite buuuuuut, they have them in Atlanta, so I wasn’t that hyper about getting there. Lupe Tortilla has the best fajitas. Ever. The end.

Saturday was authentic, amazing, smoky bbq from Goode BBQ. ugh! Cannot live in this world without it. I had this, a stuffed, loaded baked potato with sliced smoked turkey and smothered in bbq sauce

Saturday my brother cooked dinner for us and Sunday was my traditional farewell lunch at Humble City Cafe. I get the same thing… every. single. time. Chicken fried chicken, mashed potatoes & green beans. Yum. Loved every bit of it.

So now onto more important matters. I made white wine coq au vin and ‘true’ chili verde last week that I need to blog about!!!

I am pretty sure I missed the day we made coq au vin in my first quarter cooking class. I think it was my birthday or something….. So I guess they made traditional coq au vin and I was totally sleeping or partying or whatever. I broke out my dutch oven and didn’t stop cooking until 9:00…p.m. Which is very late for me. Dinner is served no later than 6… and if it is, I am grumpy. Shayne bought me a stews & braises cookbook and it has been nothing less of AWESOME. The recipes are surprisingly easy and do not require mad ingredients. Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes.

Coq au vin is kinda like the beef burgundy, except no beef and this was a white wine coq au vin. I would’ve probably liked the burgundy a bit more buuuut… nevertheless, this dish was excellent. Very comforting on a cold night. IF we had those here. 😦 It requires layering of flavors, which I love. Searing the meat.. infusing the oil.. all that yummy stuff that pays off big in the end. Once again…. the photo is from my phone 😦


Next? Chili verde, same cookbook. Very easy… 4 cans of green chilis, one onion diced, 3 cups chicken broth, 1 lb. pork shoulder for stew, 1 cup chopped cilantro, 2 garlic cloves chopped, olive oil and a dutch oven. In the dutch oven – sear the pork until golden brown on both sides, remove from pan and set aside. Add onion and garlic and cook until fragrant. Add chicken broth, chilis, cilantro and add pork and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer until pork is tender, 1.5 hours. Easy. Kind of….waiting for it to come out of the oven is the hard part. Get some snacks! 🙂 Serve with sliced avocado, lime wedge and warm corn tortilla. DELISH!

enjoy your meals!

Leave a Reply

