shrimp on the barbie

Ha. Couldn’t resist.

Tuesday night was Shayne’s night to cook and he most certainly did, but I kinda nuzzled my way into the kitchen and prepped. Everything. 😦 I usually try to relax and let him cook for me at least one night a week, but sometimes I have this urgency to help. What am I saying?.. more like, TAKE OVER. I am extra bossy in the kitchen (he can attest). I like everything to be seasoned, cut, browned and flipped to my liking. 😦 I cant help it! When I get my “nazi chef” hat on – as he likes to call it – I have to take a breath, put the knife down, tell him I love him and immediately vacate the kitchen.
So after prepping everything and feeling uber bad about it, (but then totally not when he jumped on the computer as I assembled the kabobs) HE put them on the grill. He’s not particularly a guy’s guy, but he loves to grill. It’s like his thing. So, I don’t even go there. I can’t even go outside.

A pretty simple meal, nothing really to it. Just light prepping. It was just healthy and tasty. I looked at him halfway through the meal, his plate still – more or less – full, and he gave me a look like, “meh.” Was it because he didn’t make every-thing? Probably. That’s my hubs! 🙂

Shayne’s Shrimp Kabobs
12 shrimp, cleaned & deveined
1 green bell pepper, cut into large chunks
1 yellow squash, sliced
1 zucchini squash, sliced
1/2 medium white onion, cut into large chunks (leftover from our fajitas :))
4 mushroom caps, cleaned & quartered**
1 cup White Wine & Citrus Vinaigrette
1/2 lime
olive oil
salt & pepper, to taste
4 skewers

Rinse shrimp and devein with a small utility knife. Keep in a bowl of ice cold water as you prep. Drain and put in a small bowl with vinaigrette and lime juice, and season with salt & pepper. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 9 hours (or until you get home from work).
Preheat grill to medium heat. Prep veggies, assemble on a big plate – so you can just grab as you make the kabobs – and drizzle with olive oil. We had 4 skewers, so 3 shrimp to a skewer and alternate your veggies as you see fit. There is no method to my madness, I have no secrets to assembling these.
Grill kabobs until shrimp turn pink – about 5-6 minutes.
Season to taste and enjoy.

DSC05610DSC05614

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(A Rita’s Italian Ice is a mighty fine dessert to follow with ;))

*enjoy your meals!
C

Leave a Reply

