nothing better..

..than a warm, apple TART. 🙂

I am kinda disappointed that leaves didn’t turn and the morning air isnt crispier.. South Florida just doesn’t have the hearty fall appeal that Chicago had. The only reason I really loved Chicago probably. There’s really no need to wear a jacket or brew tea… fall just isn’t a recognized season here. But yesterday all my longing for cooler days and autumn leaves was appeased. One of our “October traditions” (particularly around my birthday) is to get pumpkins and carve them. Ever since our very first fall together, Shayne & I have gone to a (legit) pumpkin patch, sat through the hay rides and the whole 9. I went online to find a patch in our area… HA! So not happening… and if there are any… they are well hidden and do not like to be bothered. I remembered a big nursery/farmers market we pass on our way to Davie and thought hmm, they prob have pumpkins. They sure did! But sooo not on a farm. I did get a really big pumpkin and carved it up Sunday as the 65-degree day settled on our perfectly cool porch. YESSS! Our windows were open (ALL DAY) and a perfect cool breeze came through. I also bought 6 apples (3 honey crisps and 3 grannys) and made an apple tart with ingredients I had at home:

Easy as Pie Apple Tart
2 cups (probably more) margarine (I know, but seriously… SO GOOD)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup brown sugar (all I had left)
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoon flour
6 apples, cubed (I used 3 granny’s and 3 honey crisp for a sweet/sour flavor)
20 sheets Phyllo dough

Preheat oven 370 degrees.

While dicing apples, cook in a large pan, margarine, sugar and spices. Cook on medium heat until sugar is dissolved and starts to look like caramel.

DSC05574DSC05575

Toss apples with flour and add to caramel and heat through about 3-5 minutes, be sure not to cook more than 10 minutes on medium heat, they will turn to mush in the oven. (Unless of course, you like it that way) 🙂

Butter a glass pie dish and lay the 20 sheets so the bottom is covered and it hangs over the side of the dish.
Ladle in apple filling and fold dough over the top.

DSC05577(I always add a few teaspoons of butter and sprinkles of cinnamon over the top for a little extra love before I send it into the oven) 🙂
Bake in oven for about 18-20 minutes, just until Phyllo dough is golden brown.
Serve with vanilla ice cream. YUM.

DSC05578 DSC05580
recipe by: Caroline Stephenson
…It’s supposed to be 89 tomorrow. Spoke too soon I guess.

Of course I cant wrap things up without gloating my pumpkin carving skills:
DSC05584

*enjoy your pies…
C

One thought on “nothing better..

Leave a Reply

