food & wine & recipes

Wow, there just aren’t as many hours in the day as there used to be.
I have some recipes to share and fun little food diddies to report from this weekend!
SO my super awesome 23rd birthday was last week and my husband & I celebrated at, hello, the most magical place on the planet… Disney World!
He took me preeeetty much the best possible weekend ever. Epcot is having it’s International Food & Wine Festival this month and geez louise… the food was FANTASTIC. I wish we would’ve taken pictures of everything but …cameras are the last thing on our minds while chomping on gourmet fare. I would probably compare the outside atmosphere and set up like Taste of Chicago, but the food = 100x better.

our fav. entree sample of the festival :) - shredded pork taco
our fav. entree sample of the festival 🙂 – shredded pork taco

epcot1

In addition to that awesomeness, Shayne & I have also implemented a strategy for planning our dinners for the week.. It’s our “weekly menu.” 🙂 It’s already proven effective in just 4 days for our budget -we only spent $70 at the grocery store (for our groceries/ingredients for the whole week!)- and our *peace* of mind 🙂 I get up an extra minute early to prepare marinades and we can both get home, relax and enjoy cooking together. My heaven!
I thumbed through my Bride & Groom cookbook (I received as a shower gift – thanks TERRI!) and starred recipes we can plan on making and wrote them on post its. You’ll see what I mean. 🙂 And it also gives me more incentive to look through my neglected Rachael Ray mags.

DSC05516

..As you can see, last night we had grilled mahi mahi tacos with rice and beans. No picture, but I am posting the recipe. Its so simple, quick and painless… there’s really nothing to it. Except finding fresh, fantastic mahi. So, once you find that… no worries. Fortunately for our proximity to the ocean, ours came outta the water on Sunday 🙂
C’s Citrus Mahi Tacos
1 lb. fresh mahi mahi, (preferrably 2 steaks)
1/4 cup citrus juice (any will do! I used tangerine and lime juices)
1/2 cup Naturally Fresh White Balsamic & Citrus Vinaigrette (look in the salad dressings)
4 flour tortillas, warm
Mango salsa for garnish 🙂

Toss fish, juices and vinaigrette in small bowl and marinade for 9 hours. (Or until you get home from work 🙂 )

Preheat grill (medium-low heat). Grill fish for 5-7 minutes on each side. Serve on a warm tortilla with mango salsa. Squeeze lime juice on top.
We made black beans (with cilantro, red pepper flakes, garlic and salt & pepper ) and made super easy rice-in-a-bag… who has time for anything else?
This was refreshing and super easy.

On to God’s gift to this green earth: Chicago-style deep dish. Now, I know some people just dont understand its hearty girth of cheese and thick crust… but I am totally a devoted fan. I love love love all kinds of pizzas and especially making pizzas. One of the very first things I became addicting to making when Shayne & I first met was pizza. I discovered that Publix (which I also discovered while in Tennessee) sells raw pizza dough and became quickly attached to dreaming up pies of all shapes and thickness with all kinds of toppings. After a trip to Chicago, I went out to Publix, got the dough, 2 lbs. of cheese and ‘ronis and made a deep dish. And here to make a debut… my deep dish 🙂

**I made the comment tonight, as I have before, that whenever I make this, the cheese always melts off the dough. And pretty much every time, Shayne says, “They probably cook the dough a little bit before adding the cheese on.” So I researched… and yes, they do par cook the dough…approx. 7 minutes. Then, put the toppings (cheese..etc) on and bake for additional 20-25 minutes**

(If you dont have a Publix or grocer that sells raw dough…. 😦 Sowwie. Here’s a recipe for deep dish dough)
C’s Super Easy Chicago Deep Dish
1 bag Publix raw, Italian pizza dough
2 1/2 cups Barilla marinara sauce
12 ounces fresh mozzarella cheese (we used Sorrento)
15-20 pepperoni’s (we like Boar’s Head)
9-inch cake pan

Preheat oven to 400 & oil cake pan. Let dough rise at least for 1 hour. (Mine sat in the fridge for 2 days and puffed up NICELY). Flour your work space, hands and rolling pin. Roll dough out approximately 10 inches in diameter if using a 9-inch pan. Just be sure to roll your dough out so it hangs over your pan a smidge…thats technical.
Place dough in pan and press to secure the bottom. Sprinkle with olive oil and add all the cheese, then pepperoni’s and lastly, sauce.

DSC05530
DSC05534
DSC05537
Bake in oven for 25-30 minutes. And bon appetit!
DSC05541

DSC05543

So very yum 😀 (kind of a gnarly pic but… whatevs. Its delish).
AND.. since I am feeling generous… No recipe, but I do have a pic. of our fab stuffed peppers from the other night:

DSC05528Of course and like always.. made with love 🙂

enjoy your meals…

C

2 thoughts on “food & wine & recipes

  1. looks like you are making use of your cutesy apron.

    I totes love that sushi is crossed out and in its place…hamburger helper 🙂 that helps the budget a bit!

  2. Pingback: hodge podge « c.my.food

Leave a Reply

